Social Security numbers of each person.
Certified copies of birth certificates of each person.
Current driver's license, current state ID or passport for each person.
If you are widowed, a certified copy of death certificate is required.
If you were previously married, a certified final divorce decree is required.
$27.50 for marriage license in Orleans Parish (fee is non-refundable) cash or money order.
CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS ARE NOT ACCEPTED FOR PAYMENT.
24 Hour Waiting Period
A twenty-four hour waiting period is required by law between the time of issuance of the license and the ceremony.
Judges of the First or Second City Courts are authorized by law to waive the waiting period for Louisiana residents and they can do this during their Monday-Friday hours of operation ONLY.
If both parties reside outside of Louisiana, the services will occur in Orleans parish and be performed by a registered Orleans officiant, that officiant can waive this waiting period.
The waiver must be attached to the completed marriage certificate when it is returned to Vital Records.
Certified Copies Of Marriage Certificates
You are encouraged to purchase one or more certified copies of your Marriage Certificate when you apply for your license because you do not automatically get a copy mailed to your home.
You must request and pay for a copy of your license.
Certified copies of a Marriage Certificate cost $5.00 + a $.50 mailing charge per transaction.
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.
Marriage License Requirments
O R L E A N S P A R I S H M A R R I A G E
O F F I C E
(Benson Tower) 4th Floor
1450 Poydras Street
New Orleans, LA 70112
Hours: 8:15a.m - 3:15p.m
Monday-Friday (except state holidays)
Orleans Parish Marriage Licenses may also be purchased at the Second City Court of New Orleans in the Historic Algiers Courthouse at 225 Morgan Street in Algiers.
Licenses are issued between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday (excluding state holidays).